Travel Problems and Great Adventures!

My travel diary!

Day 1: we we’re meant to arrive in Germany today… But everything went wrong.

3 days after my birthday we packed up and got ready to go to Germany to visit some family. We decided to travel by plane since it is a quick 50minute journey, what a huge mistake we made… the airport was packed and crowded there was no organisation what’s so ever and hardly any people around to give you directions since the airport was under construction so there wasn’t very good signs around. Time was going past fast since we were rushing around and worrying that we was going to miss our flight and we didn’t know where to go because of the crowds of people. When we finally made it through the hell que of checking in our tickets we then entered what looked like a concert crowd for the most popular band around but was actually where you get attacked by lazer scanners to make sure you’re good to go on the plane. We had around 10 minutes to get to our gate and we was still waiting in this crowd to get scanned and people were fainting which made everyone panic and take even longer to get through, so we skipped through the barrier and got scanned with 5minutes left… when we got around the corner we thought we would find our gate instead we found out you then have to get a 10minute train to actually get to your gate… by this time we knew we were going to miss out flight but still carried on just in case we had a bit of luck. Do you think we had any luck in this place?? Nope we definitely didn’t 😦 We were all gutted and shattered that we missed our flight. Who wouldn’t be?

After a 2hour drive home with being up since 3am and going through hell we all collapsed and fell asleep for a few hours. Waking up feeling a little bit better myself and my mum made plans to get the euro star the next day and try again since that is all that we could afford.


Day 2: We got up today a bit more chilled with not having to get up so early and made our way to the train station, this was definitely the best idea ever! It was so smooth and easy to get there with no rush and you get to see lovely views too 😀

When we arrived our cousins picked us up and took us to get try some Belgian chocolate waffles which tasted absolutely delicious 🙂  Once we ate the waffles they took us out on a little tour! Here are some photos that I took!

This is the building I saw as soon as I got out the stations! I loved the reflection of the sky on the windows

This is the building I saw as soon as I got out the station! I loved the reflection of the sky on the windows

This is the famous statue of the peeing boy. I'm not sure why it is so famous..

This is the famous statue of the peeing boy. I’m not sure why it is so famous..

There is a lot of wall art around Germany, here is one of them.

There is a lot of wall art around Germany, here is one of them.

center 1

horse man center 2


Day 3: Today was the first proper day of our stay in Germany. My mum and I woke up to the sound of our breakfast being made, what a treat, and it tasted lovely! Once we got ready we packed up a yummy picnic and headed out to a lake about an hour away from the house.

The beautiful view we saw when we arrived.

The beautiful view we saw when we arrived.

It was warm humid weather which was perfect for a game of bat and ball!

My Uncle playing a great game of bat and ball.

My Uncle playing a great game of bat and ball.

My cousin and I wanted to get in the lake so I decided this would be a great time to try do some awesome photography 🙂

This is one of my favourite photos I took in Germany, I just love the angle I took the photo :D

This is one of my favourite photos I took in Germany, I just love the angle I took the photo 😀

That evening my cousin’s and I ordered some food from a restaurant around the corner. We took a nice walk around the street that they lived in to go collect the food, the streets are beautiful and tidy but you feel like you have to wipe your shoes before you enter the streets so that you don’t make any mess on the pathways because it is so neat and clean. We got home from our walk to go collect the food, I ordered a Hawaiian pizza and my cousin had a lasagne. The German put a lot more toppings on their food than we do in England but it still tasted delicious: P


Day 4: Bright and early in the morning we went on a lovely stroll to a farm near where they lived and to get to a lovely forest walk we had to pass a pig slaughter house… I hated it, it smelt bad and the noises that I could hear made me feel the pain of the pigs 😥 Once we past the slaughter house we made it to a lovely forest which I obviously took advantage of with my camera! The nature was beautiful

midnight forest

view dog river

There was a little lake down in the forest that we adventured in and my cousins dog loves to swim so she leaped into the lake and fetched sticks again and again!

My cousins dog Midnight fetching the stick out of the lake :)

My cousins dog Midnight fetching the stick out of the lake 🙂

I only got a few photos around the lake because they were quite strict and for some reason they wouldn’t let us take any more and told us off 😦

We got home and the parents went out on a bike ride so my cousin and I watched a few films including Parana’s 2. What a weird but funny film, at the end the step dad drove through a line of ribbon trying the escape the madness and it sliced his head off it was so weird how it ended but it was a good film for a laugh 😀 The next film we watched was Coralline a film about two worlds, one with real eyes and another with button eyes. It was kind of scary because we was watching it in darkness and the house was silent since we was the only ones home. Right as the film was ending the parents arrived and heard that we was watching a film and could tell it was in darkness so they came up behind the sofa through the back door and jump scared us! It scared me so much that for the rest of the stay I didn’t sit my back to the door 😀


Day 5: This was our final proper day since the next day we was getting up at 3am to go back home so we wanted to go out and see a bit more of Germany. We decided to go to some castle ruins and when we got there a cave tour was about to start that lead you up to the ruins so we thought we might as well do that to 😀 The tour was in Dutch so they gave us an English information sheet but that was useless since there was no light around so we stayed at the back and spoke to each other figuring things out as we go along, this was quite interesting since most of our guessing’s were probably wrong… Oh well is was still great!

Art on the cave walls

Art on the cave walls

IMG_3900

This was quite cool because when you see it is person there was so much detail and its amazing to think that the men working down there done this sort of work.

This was quite cool because when you see it is person there was so much detail and its amazing to think that the men working down there done this sort of work.

When we arrived to the top of the castle there was some beautiful views!

wall view

ryan looking out

telescope view

After the cave and castle ruins we headed out to an all you can eat Chinese because it was our last meal in Germany so they wanted to treat us! It was a delicious meal and a lovely way to end our 5 days in Germany.

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog if you did please leave a like 😀

Be Back Soon

Libby x 

6 thoughts on “Travel Problems and Great Adventures!

  1. I have had a few airport fiascos with my family as well 😖. And they were plenty stressful, too. I know how it feels to miss a flight(we almost did). And people telling you to stop taking photos also gives a negative feeling, if you get what I mean.

    I’ve watched ‘Coraline’ before! It was quite creepy at some parts(especially the ‘button-eyed world’). LOL, your parents sure do have a sense of humour! I prefer not to watch horror movies as I KNOW that my mind would go crazy with scary stuff that would happen when I’m alone. 😂

    This entry was interesting to read, travelling is almost always fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES! Someone understands the stress with losing flights… and yes it can feel negative 😦 Haha I get what you mean!
      ‘Coraline’ is such a weird film, the button eyed world was creepy but still a good story haha 🙂 The mind does wonder off sometimes into a scary made up world and it always over thinks with these situations :/ I do enjoy the thrill of horrors though!
      Thank you! Travelling is the best 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • The people who create and think of horror films must have an amazingly weird mind though, because they think of these kind of story lines and carry on in their every day life. I wouldn’t be able to stop thinking about everything I would have thought of. It would scare me haha 😀
        I’ve just read most of the article. It opened my mind up quite a bit more with what different parts of the film meant… I didn’t really think that much into the meaning behind what was going on with the creation of the Coraline doll. Very interesting though!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

