2016 Diary: 011 – Trip to London!

Today has gone so quick! I hate it, I feel like I haven’t done much, yet I have been to London and back.

Out of the whole day the journey was defiantly the best bit 😀 OH! and the Earthquake simulator. Even though I didn’t know what was going on and that I was actually about to experience an “earthquake” It was hilarious xD

When we arrived in London we went straight into the gallery of Julia Margaret Cameron’s work and we had to chose three pieces of her work that we would like to recreate. When I was looking around at Cameron’s work nothing really caught my attention because, it’s not the kind of photography that I’m really into. Also I have never researched into her work… so I didn’t really know the story or history behind it.

On the other hand, Alec Soth’s work was amazing! Some of it was a little bit weird. But he has such a big selections and styles of different photos, so each one told a different story which I felt he left for the viewer to figure out. Soth’s work was defiantly my favourite photographer out of the two. I also had to choose three different photos of Soth’s work to recreate.

After we looked around at the photographers, we had the chance to adventure out and grab some lunch. While my friends and I was walking around, we found a really cool giant piece of art. I’m not too sure what it was called or anything… but I did get a photo 🙂 obviously

london trip.jpg

I really want to understand more about what I took a photo of. I think it was so cool and creative!

After we got some lunch, we then decided to check out a museum. The museum was full of dinosaurs, stones, Earth information… (you can tell I didn’t take geography as a GCSE lesson) But anyway it was so interesting! I loved it. We all went into this room which was about earthquakes. I didn’t think anything of it… until lots of loud noises started and the floor began to shake! I grabbed on to what I could. I was so confused! But it was hilarious at the same time xD

Sadly I wasn’t able to get many photos because there was some rules at the museum 😦

Overall I really enjoyed the trip 🙂 I found it interesting to learn about more photographers and get to actually see their work printed, and in a gallery. Usually I see them through Google images xD

I hope you enjoyed today’s blog!

Be Back Soon,

Libby x

 

2 thoughts on “2016 Diary: 011 – Trip to London!

  1. Your trip sure sounded exciting! I visited a Science Museum and I remember enjoying everything. Oh, this makes me want to visit one now!

    That piece of art kinda looks like overflowing soap suds in a way 😂. I’m not too sure what it’s supposed to mean either…maybe overflowing garbage? But it’s made of metal……maybe overuse of earth’s natural resources? 😁 Interesting pic, nonetheless. You know it’s good when it stops you in your path and makes you wonder about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

