2016 Diary: 019 – A Beautiful sunrise & missing identity

Before I left the house this morning to leave I got a call from my mum, telling me to look outside.. so I did and I found the most beautiful sunrise of this year so far 🙂

IMG_2022

Today’s lessons at college were mainly about researching more on surrealism… and writing up about our darkroom work from yesterday.

When I was researching some surreal photographers I found a man called Kyle Thompson. His work is amazing! It has really made me want to choose surrealism as my topic for this term 🙂 But I don’t know if I should because I done surrealism last assignment so, is it bad if I do it again? If I done it again it gives me the chance to improve my skills and creativity… But I’m still not sure :/ I need to research more on the other two options first… Issues of concern and equality.

Here are some examples of Thompson’s work.

Even if I don’t chose surrealism as my topic for my final piece this term, I would really like to take on Thompson’s work and get some ideas and create some great surreal photos in my own time 🙂

One of today’s tasks was to create another surreal photo but, a portrait with something missing. If that makes any sense?  We had to use a tripod and take two photos… one with the model in the photo and the other of the background, so that we could edit it on Photoshop and make it look as surreal as we can. One of the ideas that I had was to remove the models face to show “missing identity” This works with surrealism and equality in a way because some people can be confused on who they are… so I wanted to try symbolise this through a photo. Here is what I came out with…

I’m not too sure if I prefer it in black & white or colour? Please let me know what you prefer 🙂 It’s not completely finished yet because we didn’t have a lot of time, but I’m really happy with how it looks so far! I think it is so cool and weird 🙂 It may not be perfect but I think it’s  good for a first try.

I hope you have enjoyed today’s blog? 🙂

Be Back Soon,

Libby x

One thought on “2016 Diary: 019 – A Beautiful sunrise & missing identity

Leave a Reply

