2016 week Diary – End of July Getaway

*WARNINGΒ  long blog incoming…* I hope you guys don’t mind a lot to read? I decided to have just one blog for my end of July getaway, so it’s sort of like a week diary which is full of all that I got up to in Devon πŸ™‚ I hope you like it!

Day 1 – JOURNEY & ARRIVING

What a beautiful journey.. Going through Bristol was defiantly my favourite part. Gorgeous countryside and jaw dropping views. The journey took us just under 6 hours… But it really did not feel that long with music and mini games like creating funny sentences from the last three letters of a number plate.

Once we finally arrived, driving down the most pothole road you could imagine we got the keys to our cottage and started to settle in and unpack… What did I find?? More like what didn’t I find.. NO SD CARD for my camera!! How could I forget something that I needed most.. I was so annoyed 😦 But luckily my mum saved the day (and this blog) and said that she doesn’t mind sharing her camera. So all the photos that will be in this blog are a mixture of my own and my mums.

As the weather was lovely we thought before we settle for the night we’d go have a wonder around the lakes.Β  There was so much to take in, it was so peaceful and made me feel like a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders.

Day 2 – MEETING ZIGGY

Today was, what we thought would be, our most sunny day so we decided to join my dad at the fishing lake and sun bathe πŸ™‚ I took a book that I’m addicted to and my music, which I didn’t really listen to as its so relaxing and peaceful I felt like any music would disturb something. Haha

Ziggy is the owner of all of the cottages and lakes. As it was a Sunday they invite all the people who are staying here to a Sunday roast.Β  It was so lovely relaxed πŸ™‚ Everyone was sat around wooden, carved tables where we could talk and make friends… It was so rustic and fantastic. A great way to get people talking and laughing.

Day 3 – MY FIRST CATCH

I’ve never really been into the actual fishing part of fishing… I just sit by the lake, relaxing and taking photos. What I do best πŸ˜‰ But today, I didn’t really have a choice but to join in with actually fishing as my father had two rods out in the water and they both went off seconds after each other, so me and my mother got up and started to help bring them in. Both my parents where trying to bring one in as I was slowly reeling the other in myself… I must admit I got some sort of thrill or rush from the excitement of the mystery of what your hopefully going to bring out the water. Sadly the other fish got away.. Cheeky bugga.. My dad took other the fish that I was bringing in and I grabbed to net to catch my first fish πŸ™‚

Day 4 – LAST DAY OF SIXTEEN

Waking up feeling under the weather was not part of the plan for this holiday… But relaxing even more and watching films was πŸ™‚ So it wasn’t too bad. Today was a day spent on the sofa, the weather was the complete opposite to what is has been which made staying inside even better.

As it’s my last day of being sixteen, my mother and I looked back on different challenges I’ve had to face this year and how things have changed.. It made me realise how quick time flies. Sadly, with looking back on my year of being sixteen I reminded myself of a lot of things that did go wrong.. But then at the same time I realised how strong I have now become and how seventeen will be a new chapter to write and conquer. Now as you may know (if you’ve read my blogs before) I don’t really like to write much about down times in my life, so I won’t talk about all that has happened. But I will say that things are definitely going to look up in my age of seventeen and I can only go onwards from there πŸ˜€ Good night and goodbye sixteen year old me.

Day 5 – MY BIRTHDAY

Good morning and hello seventeen year old me. Finally seventeen! Time for me to turn the page and start fresh πŸ™‚

I woke up to a simple, yet amazing breakfast set up by my mum. Thank you for ages, and I finally got one, my favourite colour too!IMG_0836

Among my presents I got a cute set of different accessories for the camera and photos. Now I admit my first photo was not the best.. I didn’t really have a clue on how to work the settings on a Polaroid camera, only my DSLR. But I soon figured it out and captured some great moments of the day.

We spent the afternoon and evening down in Bude on the beach, getting slapped across the face by powerful wind force and shouting at each other as we became deaf by it too. The plan was to watch the tide come in and the sun go down.. But about an hour from the sun setting a storm decided to arrive and stay for the rest of the night so we headed home. I still got some lovely polaroid photos of Bude:)

IMG_0172

I didn’t mind heading back, as we got cosy on the sofa and put a film on πŸ™‚ It was such a lovely, funny and amazing day! I’m very grateful for my presents and I’m glad I got to spend it with the most supportive and caring people in the world to me.

Day 6 – A DAY INTO BEING SEVENTEEN

AND I’m sitting here writing my blog while my parents are out in the sun, fishing.. Not complaining though as I love writing to you πŸ™‚ The weathers gone back to sunshine, I hope it stays this way the rest of our stay here.

I’m absolutely in love with my polaroid camera! It’s amazing; the quality of the images, the vintage vibe that runs through the film, the camera itself… It’s probably quite sad but I love how once you take the photo the film reveals out of the top and you get the image that you took there and then, you don’t have to upload it onto a computer and print it… It’s just so amazing and I’m so happy that I got this as my birthday present πŸ™‚ Thanks again mum and dad.

Tonight has been probably the best night of the holiday
πŸ™‚ my mum, dad and I have had
such an hilarious night, I honestly don’t know what got into me and my mum but.. I don’t even have an explanation so here’s a little Polaroid photo I took to embarrass my mum with πŸ˜‰ Haha!IMG_0158

Day 7 – PACKING UP AND HEADING HOME

We was meant to be leaving tomorrow (Saturday) at 8am but we thought it would be better to leave today at 9pm so that we miss all of the traffic and it will only talk us 4ish hours to get home instead of about 6… So definitely a good idea.

Before we had to pack up we thought we would have a few hours of fishing and soaking up the sun.. I mentioned earlier in this blog that I’m totally addicted to a book that I’ve brought with me – ‘The Rain’ I finally finished it! Such an amazing, hooking and addictive book.

My mum and I decided to mess around with my Polaroid, as the sun was out and I wanted a few more photos for my scrap book. These two are my fave that I took today

IMG_0187

I had such an amazing holiday πŸ™‚ Here are my highlights

fave photos from Getaway

I hope you have enjoyed my week diary blog πŸ™‚ Let me know?!

Be Back Soon,

Libby x

Leave a Reply

