2016 Diary – APPRENTICESHIP! Week 1,2 & 3 complete

So much has happened in the past 2 weeks!

In my previous blog I wrote about looking at doing an apprenticeship. A lot has defiantly happened… I’ve got a new job 😀

There is so much to go through with you so I promise that I’m going to try keep it short and sweet… But remember this is me we are talking about!

Just over 2 weeks ago I decided to hand in my CV to quite a few companies which were looking for an apprentice… A few got back to me, one being my favourite shop! (Which of course is a camera shop)

They got in touch with me and told me that they was very impressed with my CV and would love for me to make it to an interview the next morning!!! My heart was pounding when I was on the phone as I felt so gob smacked that they got in touch so quickly and offered me an interview for the next day AS WELL! So I prepared for the interview all evening and made sure that I had smart attire ready for me to wear.

The next morning I woke up so energetic but so nervous as I had never had a “proper” interview before, as I’ve only ever really worked for my parents and they obviously knew me of the back of their hand, so there was never a need to have an interview. I got to the shop where my interview was held 15 minutes early and walked in head held high! All of the genuine interview questions got asked, with a few specific camera questions which I got correct, GO ME! I got to meet some of the staff which gave me a lovely welcoming 🙂 I was pretty happy with how the interview went, I could only hope they thought the same…

The next day I got a  call asking me if I would be able to make it to a trial day… OF COURSE I said yes! I had two days until my trail as it was on a Monday and I got offered the trail on a Friday. That weekend went so fast for me as my nerves made everything seem like it was flashing by me and suddenly I was on a bus heading to my favourite shop for a trail! I met a lot more people and got to have ago at the admin database; booking in cameras, sorting the repairs and checking over cameras so see if I could tell what needed repairing. I really enjoyed the trail day and it made me want the job even more, which I didn’t think was possible! Overall I would like to say both the interview and trial day went pretty successful… But now the wait for that one call which would tell me the date of my new job OR something I really didn’t want to hear…

The wait for this one call felt like weeks… But only two days later while I was on my break at my old job I got a call asking if I had handed in my notice yet as I have been offered the job!!! I was so happy! I sort of froze on the phone and was a tad speechless. That day turned out to be my last day at my catering job which was a bit emotional as I had grown very strong friendships with everyone that I worked with there, but also my first day of a new beginning and a very exciting opportunity!

A few weeks later…

As I’m currently writing this I have just finished my third week as my new job… I was meant to post this blog after my first week but as it’s Christmas whenever I’ve had a spare moment I have been shopping and planning presents… I take my present wrapping and preparing quite seriously 😂

The past three weeks have been amazing! This job is probably one of the best decisions I have made in a while 🙂 I feel quite settled in now and I get on with every body. I have completely organised my desk area and the admin side of the shop too, so everybody is very appreciative of that as I am the one who has to take care of customers equipment so I have to make sure everything is easy to find and in order.

I’m so glad that I have finally been able to finish this blog off as I have been so excited to tell you about the new update in my life 🙂

Be Back Soon,

L x